Foodie Review…dy? Froth and Fodder

In a little group of shops in Kurralta Park, bypassed only by locals as they sneak into the back of the Kmart car park, lies a new little haven of café goodness called Froth and Fodder. As the name might suggest, there’s nothing ostentatious or showy about it, it builds its appeal around its stripped back interiors (can I get a ‘Heeeeey’ for the hipsters?), well-priced honest food and friendly faces.

image

'Great Coffee, Real Food'. Froth and Fodder ain't lying

Anywhere with all day breakfast is a winner in my view, but there are a few other things about Froth and Fodder that have drawn me back four times in the two weeks since I got back from o/s. Yep, you could say I’ve got a little crush. Who knows if it’ll eventuate into a fully-fledged affair but I’ve got my eye on it for a summer fling at least.

image

F&F's drinks board and fairylight-style exposed bulbs add charm

image

My inner hipster adores the clipboard menus and milk bottle vases propped on the tables

So far I, along with an assortment of foodie buddies, have sampled the brekkie burger, flat white, chai latte, ‘Fodder Juice’ (carrot, beetroot, celery, ginger), homemade muffins (honeycomb and choc being a major standout), mocha and my breakfast staple – poached eggs on toast. I reckon a serve of poached eggs is a good way to compare café brekkies and Froth and Fodder’s have been perfect both times I’ve tried.

image

Fodder Juice

image

The classic mocha: more socially acceptable than an adult sculling hocho, but still treats my choccie-craving sweet tooth

If you’re not keen on any of the proper menu offerings (what are you, cray cray?), there’s a selection of foccacias, cakes, cookies and tarts in the counter as well as what appears to be a different homemade muffin flavour every day (major props for that!) and some Enzo’s sweet treats for the gluten free folk out there.

The biggest attraction of F&F (yeah, we’re on a nickname basis) for me though is that I get to support local lads and ladies. And the team at Froth and Fodder are some of the loveliest around. Efficient without compromising on quality, friendly without being overbearing or in-your-face, they’ve made me feel completely at home each time I’ve visited. Pop by yourself and see what I mean.

Xx

Froth and Fodder
41 Mortimer St, Kurralta Park SA
facebook.com/frothn.fodder

Leave a Reply

